A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

ThousandBeginings copy for WP

A YA anthology of retellings of East and South Asian mythology and folktales, coming from HarperCollins/Greenwillow, June 26, 2018.

Star crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings. These are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renee Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

(Cover art: Feifei Ruan)

 

Pre-order links for A THOUSAND BEGINNINGS AND ENDINGS:

Amazon.com

Barnes & Noble

IndieBound

Indigo

The Book Depository

Kinokuniya Japan

 

“A collection of Asian myths and legends in which beloved stories of spirits, magic, family, love, and heartbreak are combined with elements from modern teens’ lives….With such a variety of emotion and experiences to explore, nearly any teen can find something to relate to…An incredible anthology that will keep readers on the edges of their seats, wanting more.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This collection fills a gap in modern retellings of fairy tales and myths by presenting non-European myths. …Give to fans of Marissa Meyer’s “Lunar Chronicles” or Rick Riordan’s Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard. An excellent first purchase for all libraries.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

“Authors Oh and Chapman have created this much-needed anthology of Asian myths and folktales. …It’s a wonderful concept, and the styles and subjects are as diverse as the countries and cultures represented. …these stories are for everyone.” — Booklist

“Oh and Chapman bring together fifteen authors with Asian roots to reinterpret stories from throughout Asia, creating a collection that…explores the traditional folktale motifs of fate, vengeance, goodness, and love. …an inventiveness on par with Bardugo’s folktale revisions in The Language of Thorns.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Outstanding…Each story is followed by a missive from its author, sharing inspiration and background on creative choices and changes. Thoughtfully compiled and written, this compendium is a must-read.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“All of these stories achieve emotional depth and connection while showcasing each storyteller’s unique literary voice.” — The Horn Book

 

Book deal announcement on PW here.

Screen Shot 2016-08-12 at 08.47.56

Advertisements